The Search for WondLa – A Book Review

2 Jun

A book to read while on vacation. The Search f...

Image by justjason via Flickr

Yep! I finished that book I had told you about a few days ago. I finished it…two days ago, I think, but I hadn’t gotten around to posting anything.

 

The book in question? “The Search for WondLa“, by Tony Diterlizzi.

 

It was a big book, too. Not huge, but definately big. It’s 477 pages long, but it was filled with lots and lots of illustrations. Tony Diterlizzi is one of my favorite illustrators, and he draws mind-blowing things.

 

The book’s out-lying premise is rather sci-fi- leaning: a human girl who’s been raised her entire life underground by a robot is running away after her home being attacked and wrecked. But don’t let a short synopsis fool you; this is the book that just keeps on giving.

 

We start out with a rather confusing first chapter. The entire opening bit of the story is confusing, and you won’t really understand anything until you get into the second part of the book, which is split up into four sections, when things start making more sense. It starts out with a young, twelve-year-old girl named Eva Nine, who’s been raised in a secret, underground facility by her ‘mother’ robot, aptly named Muthr, and has never seen another real human her entire life. Muthr keeps on telling her that she is special and unique. This of course raises the question, is she alone? Or is this some strange experiment, homeschooling gone wild, where she is just totally isolated from the world? Or, could it be that she is somehow different, or belongs to a race of a different kind of human, that is being experimented on or forced into isolation? The questions continue to pile up once Eva is forced to leave her home when a mysterious person (or being) attacks her home, forcing her to leave Muthr behind. She ends up meeting some interesting characters, and the book has a very interesting story arc, which I won’t be giving away. 😉

 

What I really like about this book is how the plot unfolds. Most plots unfold in the same way, shown in the diagram to the right. This is a plot chart, showing how most every book you’ll read will progress. However, this book doesn’t really do that. Imagine that instead of going down after the climax, it goes up again, and then has another climax. It keeps going and going, have bigger and bigger climaxes as it goes along. It’s quite an enjoyable read, and you won’t want to put it down!

 

What I like a lot about this book is it isn’t straight up science fiction. DiTerlizzi blends sci-fi and fantasy elements together, creating a very unique read. It’s not like fairies and magic fantasy, but the way he writes, the creatures he has, the plot twists included, all remind you of a story book instead of harsh science. However, there are some moments that are very sci-fi, that are airing on the brutal side, and are a bit scary.

 

The ending, too, is well executed. I’m not leaking any info here, but this book was made for a sequel. One thing that bugs me with books that have endings that are supposed to make way for sequels, is they are very rarely very good. Often times, they think that endings are ‘all or nothing’ ordeals, as in you have to tie up all the loose ends or none of them. I’ve read several books with complete “Umm…What?” endings, where you’ll have just spent a lot of time reading, only to find out that this was a waste of time and you’ll have to shell out another $9-$20 to find out what all that text was actually getting at. However, this book ends in a very good way; most of the ends are tied up, you understand pretty clearly what was happening, but there is just enough empty space to need a sequel, without being completely left hanging. I though the end could have been drawn out a bit more and could have been a little longer, though. I was very confused at something that they had said, but I’m hoping it will be answered in the next book.

I bought this book at my book fair, but it would probably be found in the ‘middle’ age group, somewhere between 7-9 grade, in my opinion. It’s a fun read and I suggest adding it to your summer reading list, as I did myself!

 

Overall: 100%

 

 

One Response to “The Search for WondLa – A Book Review”

  1. Blue June 4, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I had to memorize that chart for my midterm exam for English/Literature. I messed up on the last part because I was sick on the day our teacher said that would be on the test. I’ve also started listening to a lot more Coldplay. Their music soothes me. They rock! 🙂

Leave a Reply

