Despicable Me – Big Stars, Big Plot?

8 Jan

So, I was at home with my sickly mom, and decided on the suggestion of a friend to rent “Despicable Me”. During the opening credits, I was rather surprised by the list of big stars, (Steve Carrel, Julie Andrews, Miranda Cosgrove, Kristen Wiig, John Segel) especially because it’s an animated film.

 

Now, I’m going to admit, I had very, VERY low hopes for this movie. Okay, basically no hopes. I thought it was going to be one of those really dumb kids movies that makes a profit because lots of six year olds want to go see it because of something stupid and cute. And then I heard people talking about how it was one of the best animated movies of 2010! You’re telling this to the girl who saw Toy Story 3 and Tangled, which really ARE two of the best animated movies, even movies in general, of the year. I’m not a big movie person; I don’t think I saw any movies at all in 2009.

 

But, let’s continue.

 

Overall, I thought the movie was cute. It was better than what I expected. I chuckled a few times (I have to admit that Toy Story 3 was funnier, sorry), and I think the movie had a weird, but cute, idea. I was glad that the plot wasn’t completely disjointed (I thought that the Evil-guy-steals-moon-gets-three-little-girls would be a bit…far fetched.) and it actually made sense. I thought that the Vector thing was a bit…unnecessary. I did think that one of the last scenes, with him having the girls jump, was pretty scary (I was grabbing onto the sofa) and it was very sweet.

 

I honestly thought some of the stuff in it was just kind of random and not needed (Ie: Minions), but I realize that I am a good deal older than the prime demographic of the movie.

 

Overall, it was cute, and wasn’t terribly gut-wrenching for the parents that have to pay and sit through it. Pretty good, but I don’t think it was the best animated film of the year.

4 Responses to “Despicable Me – Big Stars, Big Plot?”

  1. Blue January 9, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    When I saw the trailer, I didn’t really have hope for it, either… 😛

  2. M o' the 2 January 9, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    I have yet to see it, but my brother has. He described it as “cute”. However, that’s the same way he described Tangled, so you never know…

    Stars have actually voiced characters in animated movies for a while. How about John Cusak, Meg Ryan, and Chrisptopher Lloyd (Anastasia)? Or John Travolta and Miley Cyrus (Bolt)? It has become increasingly prevelent, but you don’t see certain stars because their looks have nothing to do with it. I beleive stars in animated movies mostly appear in dubs of Japanese movies. That I have seen.

    Can it be a terrier?

    • M o' the 2 January 9, 2011 at 9:01 am #

      The internet dog from your last post, I mean.

    • smlaarg January 9, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      I thought Tangled was a lot better, but I’m also sure your brother wasn’t almost crying in Tangled. Or bawling in Toy Story 3. Tangled, I thought, had the right balance of actually funny situations, a little bit of romance, and a lot of adventure. And some singing. It’s a Disney movie, so there HAS to be some singing.

      Yeah, that’s true. What surprised me was the fact that it was the first PG movie for them (Kristen Wiig, John Segel), or one of only a handful (Steve Carrel). I don’t watch many Japanese movies/shows/redubs anymore, so I’ll take your word for it.

Leave a Reply

