Hurdles Destroy Your Back

7 Jan

And now you know.

 

And knowing is half the battle.

 

Anyways (person who can tell me what animated TV show that came from wins an internet dog), today was pretty good. I had a spazzy-flip-out-attack today after school, but otherwise it was a good day.

 

I mean, it takes A LOT for Friday to be a not-good day. A LOT.

 

So, onwards with the daily overview.

 

My mom has gotten sick! She has almost lost her voice and has a fever (And the only prescription is NOT more cowbell), so she told me she sat and read Sherlock Holmes and a book on physics today.

 

I still went to school. It was a good day overall. We had a funny substitute in Science (she taught like an elementary school teacher, which was kind of funny), I laughed a lot in history, doing the lights in choir was easy, English was sad (We watched a documentary about Anne Frank, which made me cry a little bit), and Geometry was easy and I finished the homework in time. Then, of course, I stayed for about an hour to work at the rehearsal choir had. And then I went home.

 

I checked the Internet and found that my Geometry grade was 87% (Which is COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE by my standards. Which are my straight A+’s standards), and was getting really worked up, but it was because I had made 7/8 on a quiz, which was the only thing put in on the grade-book! Because we just got back from Winter Break! So, after some “OH MY GOSH THIS RUINED MY DAY” type stuff, I eventually (by dinner) calmed down. I’m thinking about retaking the quiz (just to soothe my bruised ego and bring my grade up to my snuff-ing standards), or just waiting till she puts in more grades. I haven’t decided at this point; depends whether she puts in any more grades!

 

But you’re probably going, “Wait, Agent M! What about all this hurdle talk in the title!” Well, you’re probably not saying that, for a few reasons. 1) You don’t talk to your computer. Or to Internet strangers. Stranger danger! 2) You probably forgot.

 

BUT I SHALL TELL YOU!

 

This morning (I have P.E. first thing in the morning, every morning), as we have been doing track and field, we did the hurdles today.

 

I LOVE hurdles.

 

I’m not very athletic, in-case you didn’t already know. Like, REALLY not athletic. So, when we get to the track and field unit, I always feel a bit…Unmotivated. Because I realize that I’m not strong, a slow runner, and I can’t jump supernaturally far. And seeing as that covers most of the criteria in track and field, I don’t have high hopes (or really any hopes) of getting a medal. Now, keep in mind, you’re looking at probably one of the more optimistic kids in her class (Unless I’m just having a crummy day. Crummy days make me not very optimistic.), but it’s not that I’m being pessimistic; if anything, it’s pretty realistic and it also keeps me from being too disappointed when I’m not invited to the track meet or I don’t win any ribbons, because it’s just not my forte.

 

What I lack in road-runner like speeds and super strength (and spidey sense), I made up for in two things:

 

  1. I’m 5’5″, and a little bit taller to A LOT taller than most of the girls I know
  2. I have mad frisbee skills

So, hurdles come easy to me. With my three-foot long legs.

 

Excitedly I came up to where the races were being held. There were six lanes; two with teeny-weeny hurdles (The ones that are about a foot tall and come up to my shin, like the kind you would use in third grade), three medium sized ones (they would hit me around my pants pockets, so maybe…two and a half feet? I dunno.), and one big one (about six inches higher than the medium ones).

 

Oh man.

 

Ohhhhh-oh, MAN!

 

So, I did a few tries with the medium ones. There were only two hurdles (It was a 50 yard or meter or something dash) per lane, so it was easy. I have a friend who’s in P.E. with me, and she runs like a seven minute mile (I run about a nine minute mile), so she is FAST. She beat me. But I knew that.

 

I tried one time with the mini-hurdles. I didn’t have to jump. I just raised my foot a little higher than when I normally ran

 

And then.

 

I tried it.

 

The BIG hurdles.

 

I ran off the block and bolted as fast as my slow, out-of-shape, completely-un-aerodynamic body would thrust me. I came up to the first hurdle. I jumped high, and…

 

 

CLEARED!!!

 

Unfortunately, I clipped the second hurdle while jumping with my non-leading knee. I was a bit disappointed, but oh well.

 

I ran in that lane again and again, probably about four or five times.

 

I had a lot of fun! Seeing as most of the other kids who tried it did it as a joke and plowed through/went under the hurdle.

 

But my ego boost did not go without a price.

 

I don’t know exactly what I did, but my back (lower left hand side to be exact) hurts like the Dickens! It kind of feels like I overworked or pulled something. But hey, I have a whole weekend to relax and bask in the glory of my own brief, shining moment.

 

I’m looking forward to the discus as well. Frisbee skills pay off when chucking a rubber Identity Disk, for all you TRON fans.

 

Well, I leave you to enjoy your well-deserved weekend!

 

Agent M

5 Responses to “Hurdles Destroy Your Back”

  1. Blue January 8, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I read the Anne Frank play last year and I was Mr. Van Daan, which was fun because i got to be a grouch for most of it.

    I have all A’s.

    Man! You’re PE class is ACTUALLY FUN! We do nothing! At the beginning of the period, if the bleachers are up, the boys lower them and yesterday…. Oh boy. We were lowering a bleacher and I was lowering it carefully and slowly when the other guys just dropped it- with me still holding it! Two things happened: A) I found myself with a piece of the bleacher that had been pulled up when they dropped it while I held it and B) The bleacher was on my left foot, which hurts. A lot.

  2. M o' the 2 January 9, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    GI Joe- True Ameriiican Heeeero! (Music)

    I can haz Internet dogz?

    I never thought I would find a use for all my useless internet info.

    I have A’s in every class but PE: Because I suck at anything and everything to do with sports, and Math: because the teacher it the worst teacher I’ve ever had.

    • smlaarg January 9, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      Yes, and it can be a terrier. Woof!

      I have the nicest P.E. teacher in the universe. He counts mainly on if you’re on time, dressed for P.E., and if you participate. But kids still flunk his class. Math is always hard, and with bad teachers it’s worse; what kind of math are you doing?

      • M o' the 2 January 9, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

        I have no idea. I still don’t know what he’s talking about, after a whole semester. It doesn’t help that he has an atrocious accent too.

  3. Blue January 19, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    My P.E teacher told me,”Boi, Ah like yew!” and I’m like,”Um…OK :P”

Leave a Reply

