Back From the Brink

29 Dec

I was struggling with a post name for this one.

Anywho, I decided last night while trying to get to sleep (This area is actually when I have many genius thoughts, almost as frequently as when I shower), I decided to try and do a post on here every week. Doing a post everyday would be difficult, and I’m sure that not that many people care about my mundane, publicly-educated life, and I’m busy after school nowadays, so I figured a once weekly post would be nice.

But enough about that, you’ll probably want an update on life.

Christmas was great at my house! I got:

  • A soda from Sweden (LOL)
  • Head and Shoulders (I have bad dandruff and we had run out )
  • iTunes giftcard
  • Toothbrush, toothpaste, and floss (LOL)
  • A how to draw book on realism and faces
  • A ‘Tangled’ how to draw book!
  • A Trix (the cereal) shirt that’s gonna have to be returned because it’s two sizes too small (I wear X-Larges in kids sizes because I’m tall, but it’s a medium. I returned it and got a shirt with Mickey and Minnie on it.)
  • “Awkward Family Photos” (It’s a REALLY funny book)
  • Sock Monkey salt and pepper shakes
  • Alabama University sweatshirt (Most of my relatives are in AL)
  • A How to draw Tinkerbell book (LOL I LOVE IT. Seriously.)
  • Two sets of pajamas (One from Justice that my mom bought that are Snowboarder monkeys, one my dad got and the bottoms are POCKETWATCHES!! and the top is blue.)
  • A bunch of shirts (I bought them with money my grandma sent; one has Belle, one has Snow White, and one has Kermit the Frog)
  • Black corduroy pants
  • A Captain Kirk ornament (ITS AMAZING.)
  • Dark Chocolate Covered Bacon Bar (It tastes AMAZING)
  • A Unicorn Pillow Pet
  • TRON: LEGACY soundtrack with poster (It’s in the mail)
  • A sketchbook
  • Some dark chocolates
  • Star Trek drinking glasses (With Kirk, Spock, Scotty, and McCoy and various quotes from them.)
  • Hedgehog ornament (Spiney Norman, anyone?)
  • A Barbie calender (It’s fashion drawings of Barbie outfits and it’s REALLY cool)
  • A Wii!!!!! And a WiiFit!!! With Wii Sports, Wii Sports Resort, WiiFit games, and Just Dance! (I played WiiFit for a really long time. It says I’m underweight and it wants me to gain seven pounds. I’m gonna do it…WITH PURE MUSCLE!! Lol.)

So, a very, very nice Christmas! 😀

Yesterday, I saw TRON: LEGACY. The theater I saw it at had a Lightcycle replica in the lobby (It was AWESOME LOOKING) and then there was a laser light show before the movie. I’d never been to one, and I really liked it, even though my eyes were having a hard time following it all.

The movie itself was pretty good. I think there were things Disney should have dropped (Jeff Bridges, AKA Kevin Flynn being a hippie, these things called Isos that were described as being basically gods that just kind of POPPED up on the Grid one day, all of the “I’m gonna change the human condition and make a digital utopia, man!”), but all of the stuff in it is stuff that is regularly in Science Fiction anyways. Sci Fi seems to dwell on Darwinist or Eastern philosophies, and I (and my dad) think that as long as it stays as a story, not where it’s being taught as fact but just being presented as a story (Like how Rapunzel isn’t taught as a historical figure in world history or whatever), then it’s okay. Annoying, weird, and sometimes even stupid, but alright, whatever.

I thought that overall it was a good movie. And Daft Punk is amazing as score writers, and I hope Disney gives them lots of money.

I got a T-shirt on the way out. 🙂

But, I skipped some really good parts.

Daft Punk, for instance, makes a cameo at one point in the movie as DJs at a creepy club ran by this really freak-ish, blond, British program (OR IS IT?!) who seemed kind of swishy to me (Just sayin’!). At one point I lean over to my mom and say, “Daft Punk…works at a club…inside a computer.” That got a giggle.

I also had this running through my head throughout the entire movie.

So whenever something happened in the movie that was in this, I leaned over to my mom and whisper-sung it. I said “JEFF BRIDGES!!” about fifty times.

 

EDIT: Forgot about the ending. Spoilers, by the way.

 

So, after this epic light airplane/jet/thing chase scene, some running and throwing of Disc/Frisbees, Young Sam Flynn and his hot Iso girlfriend make it to the portal to get back to the regular world and off the grid. CLU wants to tag along (And commit planet-wide genocide, seeing as he killed off nearly all the Isos so that the Grid would be more perfect), but Jeff Bridges does some 1337 hacking at the last minute that makes a big wind start up, and CLU comes hurtling back to him. As Sam and Kora (Iso with the best haircut ever. Which I will steal.) are being…portal’d the heck out of there, CLU get sucked into a big ole bear hug with Kevin Flynn.

 

And they hug it out.

 

And the Grid explodes.

 

I’m dead serious.

 

I leaned over to my mom and whispered, “……What?”

 

The ending was a bit weird in that way. I thought it was cute that Sam did get the Iso-girl in the end, and that they got to watch a sunrise. D’aww.

 

I must admit though, I knew Jeff Bridges was going to die. I thought it was going to be more epic, like CLU kills him and then Sam killed CLU. But no. Just some bro hugs and a giant explosion.

 

Ahh well.

End edit. End spoilers.

I’m thinkin’ that that’s about it…I’ll try to post another update on life as soon as something interesting happens!

Enjoy your last few days of 2010,

Agent M

4 Responses to “Back From the Brink”

  1. Martin II December 29, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    I thought the commentary on isothermic algorithms and computer intelligence was thoughtful, if somewhat stretched. It did build on the shaky foundation of the first Tron, which was somewhat less than logical.

    The end of the movie didn’t make any sense, though. Suddenly Jeff Bridges turns into a ball of light and absorbs the grid.

    Ooookkaaaay..

    • smlaarg December 29, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      I thought that the Isos were kind of confusing, because the environment was right and they just…came. I was just thinking, “Um…alrighty then.”

      I need to add my commentary on the end; forgot to do that. Adding it now!

  2. Blue December 30, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    There’s this awkward little kid at my church with a high pitched voice who kept telling everyone “I saw Tron Legacy yesterday!” until one of his friends said,”You’ve told everyone a million times! Just be quiet!”

    Lol! Yesterday my sister (QG) and I were babysitting our 2 year old neighbor and she woke up and we put in “Castle in the sky” for her and when the Disney logo came up, Tinkerbell flew around and sprayed it with pixie dust, to which my 2 year old neighbor exclaimed while frantically pointing at the screen “Tinkerbell! Tinkerbell!”

    I got:

    * 2 Wii games
    * 1 Nintendo DS game
    * A Batman shirt
    * A Marvin the Martian shirt
    * A liter of Dr. Pepper from my sisters
    * A two disc DVD of Looney Tunes
    * A two disc DVD of Bugs Bunny
    * A two disc DVD of Tom & Jerry
    * The complete Hunger Games Trilogy (Which I have yet to read)
    * My own copy of “Watership Down” (I’m on Part IV)
    * Some books on WW2 and the Civil War
    * A book on war trivia
    * A new wallet
    * Money

    Yeah, I have Wii Fit. My mom is good at that little step from side to side and back and forth minigame. It is amusing to watch her play it. I’m good at the soccer one and the hula hoop one (awkward…)

    • smlaarg December 30, 2010 at 9:13 am #

      Lol, it’s funny playing the hula hoop one.

      We were doing the one where you are a chicken and you flap and land on little pier things to get points. It’s REALLY funny. XD

Leave a Reply

