Trek verse War

23 Aug

This started with an argument with two of the kids in my P.E. class and I. We were debating whether tactically the Death Star from Star Wars could take on and defeat the Enterprise. Of course, because Joey (my Star Wars-fan friend) who started the argument knows NOTHING about Star Trek (Not even the Red Shirt Expandability Law! Sheesh!), he did not clarify if it which Enterprise it was. So…I say, Enterprise E.

OH YEYEAH LOOKIT THAT SMOKIN' HUNK OF SPACE METAL!

The Death Star in A New Hope

Image via Wikipedia

-cricket- -cricket-

Now, to be fair and to appease my friend, here are the tech specs:

Enterprise E

(Registration NCC-1707-E)

Weapons:

16 Phaser Arrays
Phasers
Photon torpedoes
Quantum torpedoes

Defences:

Deflector shields

Propulsion:

Impulse engines
Warp drive
RCS Thrusters

(Note, to the non-Trekki, Warp drive is FASTER THAN LIGHT travel. Light speed. Yeah.)

Length:

685.7 meters (about 2,250 feet)

Width:

445.9 meters (about 1,463 feet)

Height:

131.2 meters (about 430 feet)

Mass:

3,250,000 metric tons (about 7,165,023,521 pounds or about 3,582,512 US Tons)

Okay, now onto the…

Death Star.

Diameter (It’s a big circle):

160 kilometers (about 524,934 feet)

Weapons:

(Taken from the Wookieepedia’s article on it)

The Death Stars, the Galactic Empire‘s ultimate terror weapons, were battle stations several hundred kilometers in diameter and mounting a directed energy superlaser capable of completely destroying a planet with a single shot along with 15000 lasers, ion, turbolasers batteries, and heavy turbolasers in all plus an additional 768 tractor beam emplacements. However, the first Death Star’s defenses were not tight enough to stop starfighters from penetrating them.

I added the emphasis… 😉

Propulsion:

(Another quote…)

Facilitating the Death Star’s realspace propulsion were a network of powerful ion engines that transformed reactor power into needed thrust. In order for the Death Star to be a deadly threat, it needed to be mobile. Using linked banks of 123 hyperdrive field generators tied into a single navigational matrix, the Death Star could travel across the Galaxy at superluminal velocities.

(I couldn’t find anything else; not mass or anything! Hmph.)

So, now’s the poll time.

*NOTICE PLEASE READ*

I am NOT a Star Wars hater. I’ve only seen (don’t kill me please) the original three ONCE. I like Star Trek (and Doctor Who, while I’m in the Sci Fi mode) better, but I do not HATE Star Wars. It was pretty good and I cried at the end (which is a good sign, by the way).

But Kirk would STILL beat Luke’s butt in hand-to-hand combat. HE CAN MAKE A BAZOOKA OUT OF DIAMONDS, BAMBOO, AND SULFUR. BEAT DAT! 😉

And Data is bomb as well. 😀 I like R2D2 but I’d go Data if I had my choice. :3

(Oh, and all the funny linky bits are because of a new thing on WordPress. It’s awesome!! :D)

13 Responses to “Trek verse War”

  1. Merlot August 24, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    SQUEEE! HANG OUT W/ DATA HANG OUT W/ DATA! Pshah, the Death star has more POWER than the Enterprise, but not nearly as much skill in speed and maneuverability! I mean come on…

  2. M o' the 2 August 24, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Okay, a few thing:

    Luke would beat Kirk in hand-to-hand combat, because Luke spent years training with the best warriors in the Galaxy, which I think trumps Kirk Fu.

    The Death Star would destroy the Enterprise, because the cannon on the death star contains more energy than any weapon in the Star Trek universe, and thus would penetrate the shields.

    The Death Star would likely be vulnerable to a photon torpedo fired by a small fighter, but, as you may already know, the only such crafts the Enterprise-E carries are:

    Various shuttlecraft with minimal shields and one phaser bank

    An unarmed Captain’s Yacht.

    Also, the only reason the Death Star was destroyed was because of Luke’s force abilities. The target is only 6 feet across, and no Star Trek weapon that could be launched by a small ship is that accurate.

    And the shuttles can’t maneuver worth crap, and would get shot down. And the Death Star carries a contingent of many thousands of fighters.

    As Darth Vader said: “The power to destroy a planet is insignificant compared to the power of the force.”

    But the Empire has both.

    • Merlot August 24, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

      Indeed, they did have Luke’s force powers. But the Enterprise has Data. Data could fire with perfection; he’s an android. I might agree with the statement that they couldn’t destroy the Death Star, but the Death Star would most certainly not destroy them. The Death Star shoots rather predictably, but since planets can’t move it’s no wonder they’re destroyed. They had to send out Tie Fighters to destroy the X wings, and the Enterprise could easily defeat Tie Fighters. If you ask me as far as ship-to-ship goes, it’s a stalemate.

      I agree with the Luke thing though. It’s not that Kirk sucks, but he doesn’t have the Force. That’s not really fair, however, considering the force doesn’t exist in his world.

      • smlaarg August 24, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

        Mann, I needed you with my friend. I did this as a joke actually… XD I told him, “If I were to debate the two, i wouldn’t base it on strategic stuff. I just find Leonard Nimoy and William Shatner hotter than Harrison Ford.” He laughed and said, “Well, I cannot make an accurate reply seeing as I am not a girl.” (Or something like that…I’m paraphrasing.) But Data is amazing. ❤ I also told him it wouldn't matter seeing as neither exist… -_-' BUT DATA DOES!!! 😀 For the 30 day art challenge, today is "a couple"…I'm drawing me and Data XD

      • M o' the 2 September 25, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

        The Death Star dosen’t need to be facing it’s target. It just always is when it’s destroying a planet. The only reason the death star looks like it’s moving slowly is because the cruisers move really fast. It circles a giant gas planet in 15 minutes in Episode IV. It’s cannon is as versatile as the Enterprise’s phaser. Now, if it’s the Federation versus the Empire, the Federation wins because A) it has a fleet much larger than the empire, and B) Most of these ships can take down a Star Destroyer, but just Enterprise versus Death Star, Death Star wins.

      • M o' the 2 September 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

        Also, what that article on the Death Star meant is that it can go much, much faster than light.

  3. Bloo D00d August 24, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    I voted Kirk as the hotter of the two. xD The original as in Episodes IV, V, and VI? I thought you said you saw Episode I, but disliked it (which I do, too.)

  4. Merlot August 25, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    Hahaha! XDD Don’t Diss teh Harrison Ford. ❤ He ish so very hottie… So far Data is the only one to match my admiration, and… I can't choose between the two. xD lol my mom and me both think Ford is a hottie. ❤ 😀 but I like Data better I think…

  5. Bloo D00d August 25, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Ford: OH! MAH BACK! xD

    Hey, toady’s Sean Connery’s 80th birthday. Man, he’s old, but still awesome.

    • smlaarg August 25, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

      Woah, really? Happy birthday LordTBT! (LOL JKJKJKJK) I like Mr. Connery. Happy 80th and many more! 😀

      • Martin II November 7, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

        Lord TBT shall never be as awesome as Sean Connery.

        That would cause the universe to implode.

  6. Bloo D00d August 25, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Oh, I have something else about all of this. How would teh Enterprise fit in the little valley that the core of the Death Star is? Even small, quick X-Wings were shot down.

  7. Bloo D00d August 25, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    The bad post was me 😛 I’ve always wanted to know what happens if I put bad post…IT says teh same thing. So, don’t be alarmed.

    Heeey…Nobody’s wanted to spend a day with Blue….

Leave a Reply

