Review: “The Thief Lord”

1 Jul

I’m in the middle of watching “The Thief Lord”. I ADORED that book, but the movie leaves more to be wanted.

Amazingly, they actually stuck to the book…the majority of it anyways. I think Scipio looks like a Jonas brother, and the effects are absolutely awful. They made Bo see magical animals looking at him…that never happened in the book.

The way they did it makes it seems kind of…lame. The book was amazing, but the whole movie is lame-tastical.

They skipped through, in my opinion, the best part of the book, and the majority of it, too, in about 45 minutes. You find out the huge twist literally 45 minutes in.

The Merry-go-Round scene, which I’m watching now, is very lame. All of the worm hole-like effects, however ‘well done’ they may be, are not in context or appicable to the scene.

Auggh…wincing…Scipio just got off the Merry Go Round. And is about 6 foot tall. As my mom said, “WOAH.”

Awkward…

Oh…but now I smile. I remember what happened to Barbarossa.

Gah. Awkward Scipio with stupid hair.

Another thing that bugs me is that it seems that nobody’s voice changes. WITH AGE.

The movie is, like the majority of movie renditions of books, is lacking in the plot development and the wonderment (Which actually IS a word) that the book contained.

Oh no!! The Merry-Go-Round is kaput!

😆 Baborossa is teeny-weeny! LOSER! His voice is impossibly high. It doesn’t even look like it’s the actor’s voice. Augghh…Awkwaaaard…

Another hole in the movie is that they’re all British in Venice. Who’s ever heard of Venetian Brits? 🙄

They sped through the book, so fast you don’t even learn anybody’s name! Especially Hornet. She was a main character who was sadly down-sized.

And on that note, Scipio needs a haircut.

And on that bomb-shell, it’s time to end. And they all lived happily little moppet ever afters. The End.

4 Responses to “Review: “The Thief Lord””

  1. Rick Boyer July 1, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Thanks for posting the article, was certainly a great read!

  2. Martin II July 1, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    I have never read the book, and I decided not too after seeing the movie, which my sister is obsessed with.

    Off course, this is the same sister who liked Twilight.

  3. Bluee July 1, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    Don’t get me started on Twilight. 😡

  4. Fren July 2, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    I wasn’t even aware that it was made into a movie…I mean, I’ve never read the book, but I feel bad for the author cause when they make movies out of her amazing work, they’re always ruined 😦 Inkheart was a great book, but the movie MURDERED it D<

Leave a Reply

