Toy Story 3

25 Jun

I went to go see Toy Story 3 in Disney Digital 3-D yesterday. I’ll tell you all about it and the trailers I saw, too! 🙂

Trailers

  1. Despicable Me – My mom says it looks cute, and it actually does. “IT’S  SO FLUFFY I’M GONNA DIE!!!” 😆 Steve Carrel always does really well in kid’s movies.
  2. Megamind – Will Ferrel is playing the lead, so he’s funny in kid’s movies, too. But…Brad Pit? Ooookay then. Looks kind of goofy.
  3. Cats & Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore – I want to go see this. They’re making a play at a bunch of old Sean Connery Bond films, which I love, and are making a play-on-words of a character from “Gold Finger” who’s name wasn’t Kitty Galore…but something a bit more..um…dirty. Anyways, those movies are always funny, and a hairless cat for a main villain is a good choice (I think there was a hairless cat in an Austin Power’s film), although one of the girls I went to go see it would disagree with me because she likes hairless cats. Anyways, I really want to see it, and it looks just as funny as the first.
  4. Alpha and Omega – A wolf movie. Basically, an adult movie about hot girl(An ‘alpha’ girl wolf) meets loser guy (an ‘omega’ boy wolf, a term I’ve never heard used in wolf terminology) and…ew…, but it’s been turned into a PG kid flick. Sigh. Won’t be going to go see that.
  5. Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga-Hoole – My friend reads this book series and emailed me the trailer a while back. It actually looks pretty good. A “Lord of the Rings with owls” as my mom said. I would actually go see this in 3D, it looks like a 3D-worthy movie.
  6. Tangled – I’ve read about Disney’s CGI version of Rapunzel. Doesn’t look awful, looks sort of goofy Disney funny. Might have to persuade my mom to rent it on Demand when it comes out to our TV thing.
  7. Smurfs – WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU!? NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO. This looks awful. Eww.
  8. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice – Nicholas Cage did a great job in “National Treasure”. I was hoping for a National Treasure 3. But No…Disney makes Nicholas Cage get a freakish hobo haircut and be a magician. Weird. I think the movie looks kind of stupid. It’s by the same guys who did National Treasure, so it will probably have funny bits, like the “These are old man’s shoes…Oh, I LOVE these shoes!” bit, but it looks weird. I don’t like sorcery movies. I don’t like supernatural movies. That’s why I’m not into Harry Potter or Percy Jackson and the whole demigod stuff with Poseidon’s son. Whatever. Not going to go see.
  9. Tinkerbell: The Great Fairy Rescue – Disney seems to love murdering good, supporting characters and making horrendous sequels out of them. Yeck. I like the dude’s sweater vest in it, though. But honestly, it looks stupid.

I think that’s about all the trailers. At least that I can remember.

Now onto the real review! 🙂

I’ve always been a big Toy Story fan. The first one was god, the second great, and the third was as well. Great movie, but I have to agree with Rotten Tomatoes, it was a bit darker than the other two. I still liked it, though. 🙂

But 3D, really? It wasn’t worth going to see it in 3D. It made no difference. You didn’t have giant owls popping out into your face, or people punching you in the face, or…I don’t know. But still, 3D was unnecessary. Good movie, 3D was eh, and me and my mom bawled and laughed hysterically during it.

16 Responses to “Toy Story 3”

  1. Martin II June 25, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    I only saw about half those trailers when I saw it. But then again, that might be because it was a matinee non-3D version.

    You can get your own 3D glasses for around $6 on the interwebs or at Wal-Mart.

  2. Bluee June 25, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I’m going to watch it today, I think. Did it make you cry? I heard that the ending was sad. Smurfs movie?

    Darth Vader: NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    Me: Yes, Vader, we all agree.

    I remembers the original Cats vs. Dogs. I was only a little kid then. I read Guardians of Ga’Hoole in 5th grade. Good series.

    • smlaarg June 25, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

      I did cry. Multiple times. 😛

  3. Bluee June 25, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    I think Alpha wolves are the male wolves who lead the pack.

    • smlaarg June 25, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

      “Alpha” just refers to the leader wolves. There’s an alpha male and an alpha female. I’ve never heard them use the term “omega” to describe how high up in the pack-food chain a wolf is.

  4. Fren June 26, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    I watched Toy Story 3 last Friday (ze 18th), and holy cow, I saw less than half of those trailers! O_o

    Cats & Dogs: I saw the first one when I was little, and I remember that I hated it. That was probably because I’m more of a cat person, but hey, I was younger then xD

    Alpha and Omega: Kill me plz. I saw the trailer on YouTube last night and I was not amused. I love animated films as much as the next person, but seriously, the people who’re making that aren’t even trying. The story is lame, the wolves look like some weird hedgehog-husky hybrids, and it’s basically a CGI-d version of Balto. No. Just, no.

    Legend of the Guardians: I remember reading those books in elementary, and I loved them! 😀 Totally looking forward to this one!

    Tangled: Not a big fan of Disney nowadays, but I’m curious about this one. Saw in in the cinemas, thought it looked good.

    Smurfs: WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?? DDDDDDDDDD8 I CAN’T BELIEVE IT!!!!!!!

    Tinkerbell: *pulls barf-bucket closer*

    Anyway…

    Yeah, Toy Story 3 WAS darker than Pixar’s previous works (the baby especially scared the living crap outta me and my siblings), but was nonetheless a beautiful and well-executed film. There were a lot of parts that literally made me LOL (Spanish Buzz FTW!!! XD) and at the end….I was crying buckets! ;___; So was everyone in the cinema, apparently.

    I also LOVED the little short they played before the film itself, Night and Day. That’s just one of the things I love about Pixar, they always know just how to warm us up ❤

  5. Bluee June 26, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    I watched Toy Story 3 last night. Great film to end the trilogy.

    You won’t believe this. A Yogi Bear movie. Justin Timberlake is Boo-Boo Bear. No lie. [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yogi_Bear_(film)]

    • smlaarg June 26, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      Ew. I love Yogi, but that is BUTCHERING…

  6. Bluee June 26, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    Oops. Just copy and paste the link.

  7. Bluee June 26, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    My parents and I were LOLing at Ken and Spanish Buzz! XD My parents were the only ones who really understood what was going on when Ken & Barbie met because all of the other parents were young. It was funny when the toys got the note from Barbie and they saw Ken’s signature and they went,”That’s not Barbie’s handwriting…”

    I didn’t cry, but I felt sad at the end. When I saw the claw, I was like,”I know it’s the little aliens!” and I was right. My dad said he wished Lotso was stuck on the front of the truck dodging flies forever.

    Me & my sis (QG) were giving our predictions during the film. She guessed that Andy was gonna give the toys to that Bonnie girl, I guessed that the Baby was gonna throw Lotso in the dumpster (Like Vader did to the Emperor), that Lotso was going to betray the other toys even when they saved them, the aliens were controlling the crane and that the dinosaurs (Trixie & Rex) were going to play on the computer together.

    Overall, the movie was very good. The animation was well done and the lighting was spot on. The 3-D was pointless, though. The trailers had more 3-D than the film. It drug a bit at the begining, but that won’t make me change what I’m giving this movie! 5/5, 10/10, 100/100! It was a great way to end the Toy Story trilogy. I hope we see more excellent movies from Pixar in the future.

    I kept my 3-D glasses. >;) I was like,”Save the Earth? No way! I’m keeping these!” XD

    The trailers I saw were: (I came in kinda late, so I didn’t see all of the trailers.)

    Legend of the Guardians: Now I’m a fan of the books, but I pointed out some things in the trailer. The owls weren’t searching for the guardians, they were searching for the great tree that many owls live in. It’s basically a haven to them. They did make the burrowing owl more comical in the film than in the book, but that’s alright, I guess. 3-D didn’t look half bad.

    The Socerer’s Apprentice: My family doesn’t really like supernatural stuff, so we’re not going to watch this.

    Despicable Me: QG & I got a few chuckles from the trailer. Especially with the old man on the scooter. The 3-D looks pretty good.

    Cats & Dogs 2: I saw the original one when I was young, but I can’t remember too much. I liked the James Bond reference. Did anyone else notice the Hannibal Lecter cat? (The one with the muzzle and straightjacket that made the hissing sound). The animation looks nice.

    Yeah, Pixar was creative with the Day & Night thing.

    Sorry for all zee comments.

  8. Bluee June 26, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Aaah! I meant Sorcerer’s!

  9. Bluee June 26, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    BTW, there is no such thing as an Omega wolf.

    • smlaarg June 26, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      I didn’t think so, but I just guess they decided to make up something.

  10. Bluee June 26, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    Pathetic pun, I guess.

    Guys in charge of movie: Heh heh! Omega! It’s funny because Alpha wolf and Omega has sometyhing to do with Alpha! We’re so smart!

  11. Martin II June 28, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    There is no term for wolf hierarchy other than the Alpha male/female. They’re probably using the term “Omega” because Alpha is the first letter of the Greek alphabet, and Omega is the last.

    • smlaarg June 28, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

      Yeah…just sort of a play on words, I guess.

Leave a Reply

