I’m Baaaack!

22 Jun

Sorry I vanished. I made an account of deviantART and got distracted. 😛

I have a review for you! 🙂

Last night I watched “The Little Mermaid” last night. For the first time since I was five or six.

The Little Mermaid was definitely one of the best Disney movies I’ve seen. I love the Disney styling of art (Will definitely be attempting to do some later today), the plot was good, and the voice-over(s) for Ariel were cast rather well. She had such an awesome singing voice! 😀 And the lighting (Not lightning) was good, too.

I think Disney really struck a cord here; Ariel is a little less of the ‘normal’ princess story. Although she IS a princess, she was much more normal; she forgot the concert, she fell in love with a human (:-O), she’s rebellious and loves adventure, and she’s a wee bit silly. But that’s why we love her! 😀

Ursula is really creepy. I mean, and the “Poor Unfortunate Souls!!” song just brings that to new levels. Me and my mom were laughing when Ursula tells Ariel, in regards to Ursula taking her voice in exchange for becoming a human, “Men up there, they like a girl who holds her tongue. IT’S ALL ABOUT BODY LANGUAGE!!*throws hips around a few times*”

…Awkward…

And, who ISN’T screaming at the top of your little voice inside your head’s lungs when you find out that Ursula has come to the surface as a human with Ariel’s voice?! 😡 And, when Eric kisses her JUST as the sun goes down…I yelled out, “DENIED!!!” But still, that was pretty heart-wrenching.

I had forgotten the whole Mega-Ursula-of-Doom bit at the end…that was actually sort of funny. 😆 But then Eric is like BABOOM and runs her through with the big pointy shipwreck. And then of course, Ariel swims him off to land, and King Triton (her dad) points his big magical trident and wawoom, she’s a human. But at least this time he has the decency of giving her a spangly purple dress. (When Ursula made her a human, other than her shell-bikini, “She’s naked!” as my mom pointed out. But, Disney did a good job hiding anything weird; most of it’s in silhouette or she’s sitting in water and the water is opaque.)

A great movie all-in-all. And I am SO going to attempt to draw Ariel in the magical Disney style. 😀

One Response to “I’m Baaaack!”

  1. Bluee June 24, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Yeah, Ursula’s “body language” had me XDing and O.Oing. The lighting is very well done indeed. Especially when Ariel sings “Part of Your World.” To date, it has grossed $211 million dollars internationally! It’s also my 4 year old neighbor’s favorite movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

