Illiminate the Impossible, and Whatever Remains, No Matter How Improbable, is the Truth

13 Jun

Yes, I finished Sherlock Holmes! REVIEW TIME!!

Book: “The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Okay, so this book is a collection of short stories by Sir Doyle, who write fabulous mystery novels. I have never been so gripped and curious about what lay at the end of this magical twenty-paged story.

I do love Sherlock Holmes stories; they are so…amazing! I love being proved wrong in my guessing, too.

My favorites were “The Adventure of the Red-Headed League”, “The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet”, “and “The Adventure of the Copper Beeches”. All were great stories!

Now, let me just get this out of the way: Sherlock Holmes does cocaine and opium (Opium is a hallucinogenic drug). Now, before you rip up all your Sherlock Holmes books, back then, cocaine and opium were not illegal; they could be purchased and used legally. Now, throughout the books, Watson nags Holmes about his drug usage, telling him how it’s unhealthy and such. But that’s just a little warning.

But these books are positively splendid! Great work, again, Sir Doyle!

I also have some funny news and some bad news.

Bad news first.

This Monday and Tuesday (The 14th and 25th of June), and July 16-23, I will not be making any new posts. I’ll be gone most of the day doing something.

Funny news:

So, my dad, my mom, and I are watching the new Doctor Who last night. My mom says, “I bet that the Sycorax are under there! Remember, the babies?”

A quick definition of “sycorax”.

My mom was thinking of Racnoss. But she said Sycorax instead.

Anyways, so my mom says that and my dad says something along the lines of,

“Don’t do Sycorax. They’re bad for you.”

😆

He’s playing on the word “Sycorax” and “cigarettes”, because if you say them fast, they sound similar. Try it!

I am going to illustrate that someday.

(Doctor Who joke. So if you don’t watch Doctor Who… 😦 )

2 Responses to “Illiminate the Impossible, and Whatever Remains, No Matter How Improbable, is the Truth”

  1. Bluee June 13, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    LOL

  2. Martin II June 13, 2010 at 10:58 am #

    I read the Red-Headed League, but haven’t read the others you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

